Had “The Talk” with my PARENTS

Had “The Talk” with my PARENTS

My parents live in a retirement community in Florida 9 months out of the year.  After reading this article, I forwarded it to my father via email and had a phone conversation with my mother.  I asked if she and her friends were being safe and her reply was “Nicole (I know I’m in trouble now) no one gets pregnant in retirement communities!”  This opened up the conversation of STDs and condom use.  My mother next replied “Oh no, I have to tell the ladies at the pool about this!”  Our next conversation, via speakerphone, my parents began to tell me how they both talked about this with their friends and none of them had thought about safe sex.  The conversation closed with my mother saying, “it’s a good thing you had “the talk” with us.” 

One thought on “Had “The Talk” with my PARENTS

Leave a Reply

